Nelson Community Council

Annual Meeting held on 16th May 2024 (before main meeting) at Nelson Institute.

Present: Cllr A Gray

Cllr G Davies

Cllr E Ap Dafydd (Chair)

Mr. L John (Clerk)

No declarations of interest were received.

1 To Receive apologies for absence

Apologies were received by Cllr L Dufty, Cllr B Miles and Cllr A John.

Members expressed concern at holding the AGM with low numbers in attendance.

2 Election of Chairperson

Members (nominated by Cllr G Davies, seconded by Cllr E Ap Dafydd) elected Cllr A Gray as Chair. As there were no further nominations Cllr A Gray was duly elected.

Cllr A Gray was advised that she needs to sign the declaration of acceptance of office as Chairperson and return to the Clerk.

Cllr A Gray thanked the outgoing Chair for his work given the challenging year and the variety of tasks undertaken.

3 Election of Vice-Chairperson

Nominations for Vice-Chairman were opened with a proposal for Cllr G Davies and Cllr E Ap Dafydd received. Following a vote Cllr G Davies was duly elected to the post of Vice-Chair.

4 To make Declarations of Interest (all Members) in the presence of the Clerk and Proper Officer

Members resolved to complete the declarations of interest.

5 Consider Risk Assessment

Members approved the Risk Assessment.

6 Consider Standing Orders

Members resolved to defer this item to consider, specifically, annual meeting procedures.

7 Consider Re-approving Financial Regulations (OVW 2018)

Members approved the Financial Regulations (OVW 2018)

8 Consider the Code of Conduct

Members approved the Model Code of Conduct (same as CCBC)

9 Consider Representation on External Organisations/Sub Committees

i. Caerphilly County Borough Council and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee –Cllr G Davies and Cllr A Gray plus Clerk to represent.

- ii. Community and Town Councils Liaison Committee –, Cllr G Davies and Cllr A Gray plus Clerk to represent.
- iii. Activities Sub-Committee all Members to participate as appropriate.
- iv. Appointments Sub-Committee –Chairman, Vice Chairman, plus 2 additional Members (to be agreed when required).
- v. Governor at Llancaeach Junior School Cllr L Duftv.
- vi. Governor at Llanfabon Infants School not appointed.
- vii. One Voice Wales Cllr A Gray and Cllr L Dufty
- viii. Nelson Community Centre Cllr L Dufty

Members resolved to note the Minutes of the previous AGM at each AGM. It was omitted from this agenda. Members considered the Minutes and noted them. Members resolved that allowances would remain the same as last year.

It was clarified that the AGM Minutes 2023 should read:

Members (nominated by Cllr Gray, seconded by Cllr Davies) elected Cllr E Ap Dafydd as Chair.

Members were asked to complete an opt-out form if they did not want to receive expenses.

Members commented that a verbal or written report about Nelson Community Centre is requested regularly with details of their AGM.

Meeting closed at 7:45pm

Signed		 	
CHAIRMAN	1		